My comic + Story Boards

https://www.gocomics.com/nancy/2009/04/10

In this comic, a girl is very peppy. She is very happy and is singing about just how happy she really is. Her other friend then asks if she just made up that song, and she replies with no, but the day made it for her, she is just the one who is super happy about it. To analyze it even more, I think spring must have just started because she seems pretty excited and she is saying “spring”. Also, there are new flowers on the grass and the grass is nice and green. The transition that is taking place in this joyful comic strip is action to action. You can see the action of her hopping around, and making jumpy movements throughout each clip. There is also the “boing” sound effect which shows she is bouncing around. So I would say it is definitely action to action. 

https://www.gocomics.com/nancy/1969/12/25

In this comic, the girl is trying to buy chocolate. There is some good humor on this strip actually. She is so young and the punchline is something an adult would say so it made me laugh. The guy charges a dollar for a box of chocolate, and she gives him 47 cents. He then proceeds to say that she only gave him 47 cents, and she replies with, “But I heard a dollar was only worth 47 cents nowadays.” That is some good humor right there. The transition that is taking place here is moment to moment. In the first clip, she sees the sign that offers a box of chocolate for only a dollar. Then, she goes inside to buy the chocolate from the man working. So the moment goes from her noticing the price and then being inside asking the man. The next moment to moment action that takes place is her giving the man the 47 cents. He then realizes it and yells out to the little girl that it was not a dollar. Then, that moment shoots to the girl turning and responding with her relatively mature and witty comment. I thought maybe it could be scene to scene, but the comic doesn’t really change settings, more of just one action to the next. 

For my second story board, I decided to draw a sequence of a stick figure playing in a game of basketball. Basically what happens is, he is on defense, he steals the ball, dribbles it down the court, and dunks it while the crowd goes absolutely wild in the background. I decided to use what I think is the most simple transition; action to action. In the first slide he is on defense, then the action of him stealing the ball happens. After that, he is dribbling it down the court for a fastbreak, and finally he throws down a mean slam dunk while the crowd stands and goes crazy! I actually drew this sketch out in class during our class participation, and I liked the idea of it a lot, so I decided to put it into my sketchbook. I thought the transition I used worked well. I find it enjoyable to make transitions using action to action. It can make the comic fun, and each clip always has some sort of action in it which I enjoy.

Leave a comment