Simple Info Graphic

Cell Phone UsageHours
Screen Time300
Snapchat87
Instagram54
Youtube50
Tik Tok60
IMessage27

I chose to observe the amount of time I spent on my smart A lot of the problems relating to social media and smartphones is the criticism people get for the amount of time they spend on it. Studies show that humans will use their phone right before bed and when they wake up, immediately causing problems for the human body in relation to exposure to light. When looking at my data, and comparing it to average statistics, I realized I use my phone a lot more than the average human being. On average, I spend anywhere from 5-7 hours a day using my phone. That means some days I slept less than I was on my phone which is crazy to even contemplate. I then decided to investigate deeper, and look into what amount of time I spend on specific social media accounts. It was crazy to see I spent almost an hour and up on my top five used social media accounts. 

I would say the two charts I could compare best is the bar and pie chart. I had a hard time with my pie chart,and looking back at it I can see how it comes off a little confusing. There is that percentage in there about screen time being 51%. I don’t really have time to change it now, but I can see how that can be confusing for someone trying to view this chart. My bar chart, however, does a great job explaining how many minutes of screen time I had in the day I recorded it, and how many minutes each app was used throughout the day. I think the bar chart is the best choice because you can see what each bar represents, the apps time usage, and what the axis mean. 

The problem I encountered was in relation to my info graphics and thumbnail sketches. I used this really neat website called Venngage, and it helped me create some cool ideas, as well as a final info graphic that had good percentages, and a main message I wanted to get across. Unfortunately, I could not post them anywhere without buying a membership, so I copied and pasted the links below. It is an extra step, but if you click on each, you will be able to see my three, thumbnail sketches; with not too much detail. Then, there is my final info graphic that has everything I want to get across to my audience. 

Thumbnail Sketches

https://infograph.venngage.com/ps/3lvCUnAmsmE/critic-tips

https://infograph.venngage.com/ps/qXTEhg8k5IU/coral-content-marketing-case-study

https://infograph.venngage.com/ps/bbdpDVXBTwg/your-help-poster

Final Info Graphic

https://infograph.venngage.com/view/54aad281-3d2d-47cd-a0b3-fe1ecc6d5530

Leave a comment