5 Photos

For this blog post, I decided to take a walk around the fabulous town of Bristol, Rhode Island. Before you read this post, I want to inform whoever views this, I have also included the main photos with the zoomed in portion of the element I decided to focus on. Some of the pictures taken were just really beautiful, and I felt that it should be included for the viewers enjoyment.

1.) COLOR

The first sensory principle I am focusing on is color. Look at the zoomed out image first, then take a look at the zoomed in image that focuses on the specific principle I am referring to. The first part of the picture I notice is the houses. They are very plain and boring. Then, look at the sunflowers. The yellow and blue go hand in hand to create a bright and joyful hue for the picture. Although they are not the most alive, the colors of the sky, and leaves support the flower itself both literally, and color wise. I think these colors work well together because blue and yellow go together to make green. So when those three colors sit together, it just seems to naturally fit.

2.) Shape

It’s very obvious that houses, when really studied, are crafted with a combination of different shapes. I wanted to zoom in on this particular spot because I thought this door was the best example of the sensory principle for shape. First, surrounding the entire entrance, bricks make up most of the house. I think houses made of brick are so satisfying because it looks even, and clean. The door itself, is made of one large rectangle. Then, inside of that are the windows, the window panes, and the designed etches on the bottom of the door. Notice, they are all made up of squares or rectangle. Shape is one of the most important sensory principles in my opinion because it is everywhere. Shapes are the base of anything and everything that is design, art, or just basic objects that we, as humans, pay no attention to. Also, pay attention to the window that is above the door. Although the glass is all rectangular shaped, it is so interesting to me that the brick closes around the glass, and it creates a semi-circle like shape. Designs of houses are always so cool to look at because the way shapes work together is unique and different than any other house.

Division of Space

For division of space, I took a picture of a brick path. What I love about this photo is how unequal the path itself is. If you look at the spacing in between each brick you can see the spaces in between. Some spots have moss in between, some have just rock or dirt. I had a hard time trying to find a good photo for this sensory principle, but I think this does a great job of illustrating how space can create patterns, or make designs look right. Think about this brick path, if the bricks weren’t spaced out, there would be no pattern, and I do not think it would look as pleasing or nice as it would with the spaces in between. Division of space helps make images look more comfortable.

4.) Relative Size

What picture could be better for relative size than a nice sunset view in Bristol’s port? I posted the zoomed in image first because I wanted to point out the main idea of relative size. In that photo, you see a boat on the water. You can’t tell what is around it, or how far away it is because it is zoomed in. Then, when zoomed out for the full photo, you can tell how far away the boat is from where I was standing. You are now allowed to see the full size of the water, and everything surrounding it to put the boats size and location into perspective. I think this is my favorite example. Not only because of the beautiful view, but because of the way relative size works. That specific boat isn’t in the center of the photo. When looking at the first picture, you can tell it is in a body of water, but not where or how far out. Relative size is so important, especially in art because artists have this ability to make things look like they are further than another object; when in reality it is all just on a piece of paper. Everything is the same, but when other objects are put into perspective, it allows other objects such as the boat to be further away. Very cool.

5.) Lines

I also had a challenging time trying to find something that would describe how lines work. I chose this dock, and the edges of it because I liked the way it was placed. What I mean by that is, you can see the sides of the dock, which are lines, and how they stop right at the water. Other lines in this photo include the poles on the dock. I liked the way they went in front of the boat because it blocked a portion of it,but the sides are lines, and you can see how they are parallel to each other. Lining is most definitely important in art and in life because it is basically the outlining of everything that is around. I once watched this cartoon episode of Fairly Odd Parents, and in the middle of the show, the lines around the characters are erased for a few seconds. It looks so different and strange. Without lines, there really isn’t that variable that defines what an object is, where it ends, and how it is shaped.

Post Write:

For this blog, I really wanted to focus on the aspects of Bristol itself. The town is so beautiful, and there are so many different examples of the five sensory principles that I could find, it just was a matter of what would be the best way to explain how it worked and why it worked successfully. Some problems I encountered were trying to find the right example for lines. I had a few photos of tables and doors, but I decided the dock photo was best because of the way it ended at the water. You really can see the way the lines work to make the shape of the dock.

I think my AHA moment came when I was looking for pictures to take when I was thinking about the way relative size worked. That picture of the boats sailing during the sunset just catches my heart. I loved everything about it, and it helped me understand how space really works. It opened up my mind and it felt really cool to just understand that whole concept of space and its important in art.

I was able to make the connections of what we learned in class about the sensory principles while I was actually working on the project. Being able to think about the way they worked, and find the right photo to illustrate a specific sensory principle was a challenge I really enjoyed taking on for this class. So, I thought it was cool to be able to take what I learned to help myself work on this blog, all while learning what the principles really were about.

If I had more time or resources, I definitely would have tried to find a better example for lines. I think it is an okay example but only because I explained it well. I really could not find a solid picture that allowed someone to see it and know right off the bat it was the sensory principle of lines.

Leave a comment